Finding Lyla (Book 10 in The Bodyguards of L.A. County) by Cate Beauman

28512962.jpg

Author: Cate Beaumont
Published on: January 11th, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Romantic Suspense
Series: Bodyguards of L.A. County Series
Published by: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ASIN: B01A69ED5M
Pages: 430

SYNOPSIS:

Principal Dancer Lyla Markovik-Avery is always on the go. Grueling practices and endless performances rule her busy days—and things are about to get more hectic. Russia is rolling out the red carpet for their beloved star, despite the string of violent terrorist attacks that have rocked the nation. 

Bodyguard Collin Michaels’ life is falling apart. His long-time relationship recently ended. He’s trying to start over, but that’s easier said than done. Luckily, Collin has a new assignment on the horizon: keeping a beautiful ballerina safe for the next three weeks. 

Collin finds comfort in Lyla’s easy friendship, but that all changes after a night out on the town. Simple feelings become complicated—something Collin can’t afford, especially when tragedy strikes and Collin realizes Lyla’s caught in the middle of a dangerous plot for revenge. 

Collin and Lyla are forced to flee. They need to reach the border before it’s too late, but the odds are stacked against them in a country that wants them dead. With time running out, Collin formulates a risky plan that might be their only chance of making it out alive. 

Review:

I’m also glad that I got to read this one out of order, even though reading the other one first did give me a glimpse of insight into one  name that appeared.

This one I might have enjoyed more than the other one, but I’m not totally sure, they were both on equal par for me. The male and female characters from this book and from Saving Sophie were pretty similar, and appeared to have some of the same problems. The men were tough and supposed to be “uncaring” and not falling for the girls, but kept getting caught up in their sweet moments. The ladies were both supposedly these week, small women who turned out to be incredibly strong and both had past family problems (ironically, both lost their mothers). The vague storyline was very similar, but obviously the two main plot lines were different.

Both of these books were entertaining, and I did like the differences that showed between the two main women characters in each book. However, the men were incredibly similar, which some would argue is how men are in real life (notice I say some, not me). I think the men could have had more diverse personality traits and the storyline could have been a little different.

There once more was a fair bit of sex scenes in this, nothing incredibly graphic, but they were extremely similar to the ones from Saving Sophie. I’m not a huge fan of novels that include that stuff, but even if I don’t really enjoy it, I found it kind of dull that they were so similar.

It was a good book, but one I don’t think I’ll be reading again. I’m not sure if I’ll read more books in the series or not. I’m a bit curious about the rest of them, but my hunch is that they’ll all be fairly similar to the two I’ve currently read.

Since there are sex scenes and language, I recommend 17+ again.

Rating:
3 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Finding Lyla (Book 10 in The Bodyguards of L.A. County) by Cate Beauman

Leave a Reply

