Saving Sophie (The Bodyguards of L.A. County, #7) by Cate Beaumont

23161603

Author: Cate Beauman
Published on: September 4th, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, Romantic Suspense
Series: The Bodyguards of L.A. County
Published by: Amazon Digital Services
ASIN: B00MU82396
Pages: 453

SYNOPSIS:

Jewelry designer Sophie Burke has fled Maine for the anonymity of the big city. She’s starting over with a job she tolerates and a grungy motel room she calls home on the wrong side of town, but anything is better than the nightmare she left behind.

Stone McCabe is Ethan Cooke Security’s brooding bad boy more interested in keeping to himself than anything else—until the gorgeous blond with haunted violet eyes catches his attention late one rainy night.

Stone reluctantly gives Sophie a hand only to quickly realize that the shy beauty with the soft voice and pretty smile has something to hide. Tangled up in her secrets, Stone offers Sophie a solution that has the potential to free her from her problems once and for all—or jeopardize both of their lives. 

 

Review:

I’m lucky these books can be read as a stand alone, because I started out with this one.

Anyways, I was surprised at how much I liked this book. I may or may not have read it in a few hours straight because I had forgotten, but that’s besides the point. Sophie and Stone’s story definitely kept me waiting to see what turn it was going to take. I experienced the emotions that both were feeling at times. The hurt, the heartache, the joy, etc. There were a lot of good aspects of this book, and I’m definitely glad I read it.

The characters were well done too, and there was background given to each of them in a subtle way that gave them a little more “life” to them. I would have liked to know a little more about Stone and Eric though. The characters were likable (well, most of them), and it wasn’t too cliche. There was a twist that I didn’t see coming until a chapter or so ahead of when it did, so only  a little bit expected.

However, there was nothing extraordinary about this book. It was good, yes, but it’s not going to be a book that I remember for the best of my life. It’s a bit predictable, and parts of it are definitely a typical romantic suspense novel. I don’t think I’ll ever read it again, but I definitely did enjoy it.

 

There’s quite a bit of language and sexual scenes, so I would suggest 17+

 

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Saving Sophie (The Bodyguards of L.A. County, #7) by Cate Beaumont

Leave a Reply

