Binge by Tyler Oakley

9781471145131.jpg

Author: Tyler Oakley
Published on: October 20th, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Autobiography, Humor, Comedy, Memoir
Published by: Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781501117695
Pages: 320

 

SYNOPSIS:

Pop-culture phenomenon, social rights advocate, and the most prominent LGBTQ+ voice on YouTube, Tyler Oakley brings you his first collection of witty, personal, and hilarious essays.

For someone who made a career out of over-sharing on the Internet, Tyler has a shocking number of personal mishaps and shenanigans to reveal in his first book: experiencing a legitimate rage blackout in a Cheesecake Factory; negotiating a tense stand­off with a White House official; crashing a car in front of his entire high school, in an Arby’s uniform; projectile vomiting while bartering with a grandmother; and so much more. In Binge, Tyler delivers his best untold, hilariously side-splitting moments with the trademark flair that made him a star.

Review:

I’ve watched Tyler on YouTube for a few years now, and he’s so flamboyant, so sassy and so hilarious that I couldn’t help but pre-order his book. I was so excited when I got it in the mail, and my excitement wasn’t wasted.

This book was everything that I expected and more. Tyler reveals so many stories that he’s never talked about before, and I loved learning more about one of my favorite YouTubers. Probably within my top 3 American YouTubers. He presents his stories in a way that’s pretty much exactly like his videos. His tone is conversational and friendly. Just as he is in his videos, he doesn’t hide any of his personality and made me feel like I was reading something that a friend wrote.

Another thing I really loved about this book was that he was so genuine. He didn’t wrote this just to write a book, he wrote it because he wanted to share more of his life with us. He made me believe that I was really there for some of the events that happened (which I won’t say specifically because spoilers!). I couldn’t read it continuously because college got crazy, but I finished it over my winter break, and I’m so glad I got the time to. I was a bit sad at the end because I know theres so much more that Tyler hasn’t shared, and I can’t wait to hear the rest of his crazy stories.

Tyler writing isn’t the best, but he’s not a professional or trained writer, so I wasn’t expecting something perfect from him. He attempts to tailor his writing to all of his viewers, which can range from about 10-75. This is a very hard thing to achieve, and I think that he did his best, so props Tyler!

There is language in the book, so I would recommend 15+.

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Binge by Tyler Oakley

Leave a Reply

