Infinite In Between by Carolyn Mackler

23870836

 

Author: Carolyn Mackler
Published on: September 1st, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, New Adult, Fiction, Realistic Fiction
Published by: Harper Teen
ISBN: 0062323059
Pages: 480

SYNOPSIS:

Zoe, Jake, Mia, Gregor, and Whitney meet at freshman orientation. At the end of that first day, they make a promise to reunite after graduation. So much can happen in those in-between years….

Zoe feels like she will live forever in her famous mother’s shadow. Jake struggles to find the right connections in friendship and in love. Mia keeps trying on new identities, looking for one that actually fits. Gregor thought he wanted to be more than just a band geek. And Whitney seems to have it all, until it’s all falling apart around her.

Echoing aspects of John Hughes’s The Breakfast Club, Carolyn Mackler skillfully brings the stories of these five disparate teens together to create a distinct and cohesive whole—a novel about how we can all affect one another’s lives in the most unexpected and amazing ways.

Review:

I actually listened to this as an audiobook, which I haven’t really done before. I remember listening to one when I was about 11, and The Truth About Alice earlier this  year,  but other than that audio books aren’t really my thing.

It was nice to be able to listen to it while I did other things, and to hear the voice the speaker gave to the different characters. I think she did a good job, making them distinct, but not too overdone.

 

The title was what caught my attention at first. The cover isn’t very flashy, and I didn’t read the description, I just requested the book from my library. As it began, it took me some time to adjust to getting used to her switching between the different viewpoints of the characters. There were a few times when I wasn’t completely sure who was talking, but other than those times it was fairly easy to follow.

The plotline wasn’t too common, and it was simple enough to follow. The writing was done well, using a professional tone, yet conveying the youth of the characters. The characters were written with depth, and clearly portrayed the adolescent emotional changes that teens go through, instead of making them completely constant.

The low points weren’t what I expected, and I could only vaguely predict when they would be. The story showed the teens going through their depression or struggle for identity, but then showed them overcoming that, while not making them a super human.

I do think this was a really good book, and I would recommend it to most people 16+. There is a bit of language and sexual content.

 

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

