Autumn in the City of Angels by Kirby Howell

Hey guys! So I’m going to try a new way of reviewing, so let me know what you think 🙂

17831374

*I received this a LONG time ago from the author herself! Sorry, the life of a college student*

Author: Kirby Howell
Published on: April 14th, 2013
Series: Autumn #1
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy
Published by: Streetlights Publishing
ISBN: 0989036405
Pages: 362

SYNOPSIS:

What would you do if you lived through the apocalypse? The real fight to survive comes after everyone else is gone.

A plague of epic proportion sweeps the globe, leaving less than one percent of the world’s population immune. Among the living is Autumn Winters, the teenage daughter of a famous actress. When Autumn’s parents don’t come home and the city is overtaken by a dangerous faction, she goes into hiding with a small group of underground survivors. They’re led by a mysterious young man who harbors an unearthly secret, and with whom Autumn feels a deep connection.

Review:

When I first started this book I though “Oh, this looks cool, but it’s just going to look like every other romance dystopia book”.

Oh, how wrong I was.

As I continued to read on, I found myself furrowing my brow at some of the sentences, trying to deduce what was going on (in a good way). I re-read paragraphs, went back and looked through pages, even looked at non-spoiler reviews in order to figure out some of the mysterious details of this book. By the time I got to one of the mini climaxes I had figured out the “big secret”, but it took me a while to get there. The book held my attention, and wasn’t completely stereotypical. Of course, there’s the forbidden romance with the mysterious man who turns out to be super great, but that’s most young adult novels lately.

However, I did find myself distracted from the book (although admittedly I have mild ADD so that’s not super hard to do). I would stop reading and then come back to it a few days (or months) later and continue on. The plot line is easy to follow, and the characters actually have depth. The beginning didn’t capture my attention as much as I would have liked it to. The first few paragraphs did make me want to continue, but after a few pages I felt my self starting to space out.

Overall, it was a cute read, and one I would recommend for anyone who likes YA books and has a taste for headstrong female characters.

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

