A Rare Gem by Deanna Kahler

22737707

I received this book from Goodreads First Reads in exchange for an honest review.

This is the first children’s book I’ve been asked to review, so I was really excited when I got it! It’s actually the first book for my future classroom as an elementary school teacher 🙂

Anyways, I enjoyed the plot of this book. I enjoy how it focused on something that a lot of kids struggle with (being too short/being different), and added the fictional aspect of a princess who is small enough to fit in a mouse hole. It definitely helped hold my attention more than it would have without that. The names were also unique enough to help make sure it didn’t blend into the other various books like this.

I did find a grammatical mistake on page 11, but it definitely wouldn’t be noticeable to a child. The other thing I was confused about was the part where she walks out of the mouse hole, and suddenly she’s in the center of town. That confused me a bit, and I could see it confusing some sharp older kids, but otherwise I don’t think it would be that big of a deal.

The art was beautiful and consistent.

Overall, this was a nice book, and will definitely be in my reading area in my classroom!

Leave a Reply

